Thursday, 9 February 2012

Councillors Voted To Deny Rapid Transit For Their Constituents

On Feb. 8, 2012, the majority of Toronto City Council voted to reaffirm most of the Transit City LRT plans.
The vote was 25-18.
Nine councillors voted no to the plan that would bring rapid transit to their wards. The Ford transit plan would only have brought rapid transit to 4 of these 9 wards.

You can see a map of how the councillors voted at the Toronto Star page here.

You can see 5 maps of different versions of Toronto transit plans at the Globe & Mail page here.

Ford's plan has no LRT on Finch West, the Eglinton LRT line is much shorter on the West end, and his Sheppard Subway plan had no funding, so it most likely would not have been built any time soon.

The reaffirmed Transit City lines contains a segment of LRT that crosses the North end of Etobicoke on Finch, has an Eglinton West LRT line that extends to the edge of Etobicoke, and includes the possibility of an LRT line along Sheppard in Scarborough.

The Councillors who voted against rapid transit routes in their wards are:
1 - Vincent Crisanti
7 - Giorgio Mammoliti
11 - Francis Nunziata
12 - Frank Di Giorgio
17 - Cesar Palacio
34 - Denzil Minnan-Wong
35 - Michelle Bernardinetti
37 - Michael Thompson
40 - Norm Kelly

The wards, of the councillors above, which would end up with zero new rapid transit lines in their wards under Fords plan: 1, 7, 11, 12 and 40

Now, people who live in these wards, when it comes election time again, remember that your councillor voted to deny you vastly improved public transit.

No comments: